Potent Quotables from “Heroes and Monsters: An Honest Look at the Struggle within All of Us”

I just finished reading Josh Riebock’s memoir, Heroes and Monsters: An Honest Look at the Struggle within All of Us. I don’t think I’ve read a memoir before, so I had nothing to compare Riebock’s book to, nor did I have any specific expectations. Overall, it was an enjoyable book. I think the fact that Riebock is young (only like 32?) made it easy for me to connect with him and his thoughts. Now’s the awkward moment when I tell you this isn’t a book review (I’m much too lazy and unstable for that). In fact, if you want to read some reviews go to Amazon. In any case, as you can tell by the post title, this book was full of great phrases and quotes, and you know me, I’m a sucker for great quotes, so I’ll share a few standout ones from the book:

The most fascinating people in the world are the people who are most fascinated by the world, and those same people are the ones who change the world. No one who’s ever influenced this planet has ever done so without being remarkably curious.

Dreams can’t live alone. Sharing our dreams with others may risk destroying them, but without sharing them, we destroy ourselves. Most dreams aren’t murdered. Most dreams commit suicide.

Disappointment knows where we hide. Pain is more reliable than Santa Claus, more determined than a starving thief. It will bang the door, jimmy the lock, crawl through a window, come down the chimney, bypass security; it will find a way in. In this life, there is no such thing as safe. Insulation is an illusion.

Laughter is the evidence that we’re still here, the proof that our tragedies will not define us forever. Laughter is the language of the survivor.

Every human, Jack says, is both an arsonist and an architect, marked with the thumbprint of good and the claws of evil, breathing both death and life into this world. Humans, Jack says, are both the stench and the aroma.

Yes, the trust beast has been tamed! And it needed to be tamed, because love is a force furious enough to require a conscience, and trust is that conscience — the only thing that keeps love from killing, because without trust, love murders.

But I guess life is a matter of knowing which vows matter most and which ones you’re better off without. Sometimes it’s the broken vows that let us know how far we’ve come.

Like most people, I’m afraid to be weird, so I’m always concealing my quirks, which is a shame. Our quirks are the very things that draw people to us. Our quirks make us who we are. Our quirks are all we have. Without them, we’re boring. Hide your quirks and you’re a Volvo.

Everyone can “change” tomorrow. Everyone “solves” problems tomorrow. But the only changes that matter are the ones I make today. Tomorrow is the easiest day I’ll ever live. Today is the scary one, which is probably why I’ve spent so much time avoiding it.

Leave a Reply

