A Morning Peacock of Links (Memorial Day Edition)

Thoughts on Memorial Day 

The Power of Remembering – Mark Driscoll on the power of remembering as it relates to Memorial Day and Calvary

Remembering Memorial Day – Kevin DeYoung on the reasons why Memorial Day is a holiday well-worth celebrating in the church.

Gramps

One man’s tribute to his grandfather.

What a Minister’s Library Should Look Like

Michael McKinley answering a young Pastor’s question on what his library of books and academic sources should look like.

Six Ways of Minimizing Sin

Six ways we minimize sins and our shortcomings. These are six areas we should examine in our own lives, prayerfully address, and strive to overcome. Personally, I still struggle with the first one and, though it’s not a problem these days, the third one was a huge struggle for me in the past.

The 50 Best Author vs. Author Putdowns (#1-25), (#26-50)

Some observations – a lot of hate on ‘Ulysses’, Jane Austen, and Robert Frost. Also, Twain has quite an acerbic tongue! Some of my favorites:

Bulwer nauseates me; he is the very pimple of the age’s humbug. There is no hope of the public, so long as he retains an admirer, a reader, or a publisher.

I often want to criticize Jane Austen, but her books madden me so that I can’t conceal my frenzy from the reader; and therefore I have to stop every time I begin. Every time I read ‘Pride and Prejudice,’ I want to dig her up and hit her over the skull with her own shin-bone.

If it were thought that anything I wrote was influenced by Robert Frost, I would take that particular work of mine, shred it, and flush it down the toilet, hoping not to clog the pipes….a more sententious, holding-forth old bore, who expected every hero-worshipping adenoidal little twerp of a student-poet to hang on his every word I never saw.

The book has gas and runs out of gas, fills up again, goes dry. It is a 742-page work that reads as if it is fifteen hundred pages long…. At certain points, reading the work can even be said to resemble the act of making love to a three-hundred pound woman. Once she gets on top, it’s over. Fall in love, or be asphyxiated. So you read and you grab and you even find delight in some of these mounds of material. Yet all the while you resist — how you resist! — letting three hundred pounds take you over.

Leave a Reply

