A Morning Peacock of Links (4/25)

On Books and True Ownership

Tim Challies on the meaning of true ownership within the e-book/physical book dichotomy:

My brain has not yet been able to fully adjust to digital versus physical ownership. I realized this a couple of weeks ago when I bought a novel in Kindle format. I loved that novel and enjoyed reading it on my Kindle, but at the end of it all I found myself wanting to visit the bookstore to buy a printed version of it, something I could put in my office and add to my bookcase almost like a kind of trophy, a relic that says something about me, about what I’ve loved. I found it interesting that somewhere beyond conscious thought and reason, my brain registers a difference between these things. My brain tells me that I don’t fully own something until I own it physically. Somehow my mind registers owning a Kindle book as something less than owning a book printed in ink on dead trees.

3 Simple Ways to Encourage Your Pastor

RC Sproul Jr. on 3 ways we can encourage our pastors.

Joel Osteen, Mitt Romney, Mormonism & Christianity

Joel Osteen’s interview on CNN with Wolf Blitzer in which he stated he believes Mitt Romney is a Christian and sees Mormons as brothers in Christ. In response to that, Joe Carter from TGC posted a response that addresses the issues that are relevant to the question of whether Mormons can be considered Christians. In short, the answer to this question is “no”.

The Ugly American — Sex Trafficking and Our National Humiliation

Al Mohler on how sex trafficking hits closer to home in the greatest of ironies:

Kirsten Powers got it just right when she wrote, “We have a global epidemic of sex trafficking.” I can only wonder how many Americans understand that the “we” in that statement means us — the American people. When a congressman can admit for us all that women and girls are being forced into the sex trade for a clientele “consisting largely” of American government officials and contractors along with the U.S. military, that problem becomes the responsibility of every American.

The Stranger: Part 1, Chapter 1

Leland Ryken & TGC’s opening commentary/discussion post as part of their “Commending the Classics” Series on Camus’ The Stranger. If you haven’t done so already, grab your old copy from high school off the bookshelf, blow the dust off and follow along. Even though it took a decade, my 10th grade Honors English class finally succeeded in getting me excited about reading this book seriously!

Leave a Reply

