A Morning Peacock of Links (Weekend Edition)

I totally forgot to post this on Friday. Better late than never!

5 Things Mentors Should Model

Dave Kraft reflects on his own experiences being mentored and then discusses the types of characteristics mentors should possess, based on those experiences.

Why Backyards Matter

Julian Freeman on the topic of mentorship and being transparent:

If you are a pastor — or just a mature man in the church who desires to mentor younger Christian men — let me admonish you: Let men into the backyard of your life. It will be good for you and it will bless them immeasurably. Resist the urge to keep guys in the ‘front yard.’ Let them see how you wrestle through the unfinished business of your spiritual life and they will grow.

Discipleship & Young Mothers (Four-part series)

Part 1: Discipleship is for young moms, too

In the area of biblical womanhood, the “younger me “would have benefited hugely from a true picture of what young motherhood looked like. I loved children and wanted a family. But I think a realistic idea of the work involved in raising children and keeping the home would have informed some of the choices I had made. I had an inflated view of what I could accomplish in my waking hours. I thought I could be a doctor, a pastor’s wife, and mom-extraordinaire all in one.

I had spent much time shadowing doctors, but I hadn’t initiated much to spend time with a mom. I think if I had, her life would have offered much wisdom to me as I considered what kind of degree I got, what career I pursued, or how much I financially invested in my education. Seeing a real-life picture of biblical womanhood and having realistic role models would have challenged my proud thoughts of being able to do all and have all and be all.

Part 2: No sufficiency to disciple other women? No problem!

When I invite a young woman into my life and she sees my failings and my sin, I have the opportunity to show what kind of people Christ came to die for: sinful, blemished people.

I have the occasion to communicate that apart from Christ’s gracious work in my life I would be a much meaner, more selfish mom.  I can show this younger woman how to rejoice in the fact that Christ came to heal the sick and needy, not the healthy and perfect.

For the Love of Pinterest? A Her.meneutics Hangout with Rachel Held Evans, Sarah Bessey, & More

A video discussion amongst multiple contributors to Her.meneutics on the pros and cons of Pinterest. For someone that doesn’t “pin” or know much about it, I found this to be a pretty informative/interesting conversation.

Authentic Phony

Greg Spencer on our weariness of phoniness, and how to pursue authenticity:

Authenticity is the courage to love with a rigorous inside-out consistency. Despite pop culture’s preference for surface-level glitz, I believe we long for sincerity. We want to be able to trust that others are who they appear to be. And we desire to have our inner and outer persons meet such that we can be known deeply by others and by God.

Mark Zuckerberg and the Biblical Meaning of Success

Hugh Whelchel on the parable of talents, work, and success:

Therefore, we base our definition of success on whether we have cultivated and invested our God-given talents and, by faith, taken advantage of divine opportunities to use them—whether we have been given one, two, or five talents.

This definition should convict. We are called to greater heights of stewardship then we ever before realized. But it’s also relieving: we are only called to steward our own talents and opportunities, not those allotted to people like Mark Zuckerberg or Steve Jobs.

It is up to us whether the Master will respond, “Well done, good and faithful servant. . . . Enter into the joy of your master,” or, “You wicked, lazy servant!” Love of the Master drives and inspires our work. We’re not working to become the next Zuckerberg, though some may be called to such influence. We’re simply working to receive the Master’s praise.

How Many Books Can Someone Really Read?

Aaron Armstrong on the plight of having too many books to read. Personally, everything he said related exactly to what I’m going through.

An Interview with Joel Hunter

A short, informative interview with Obama’s spiritual adviser, Joel Hunter (Pastor of Northland Church near Orlando).

Unanswered Prayer

Fred Zaspel on the “issue” of unanswered prayers:

“Unanswered prayer” is a frustrating question virtually every Christian has faced. We know that God has promised to act in response to our prayers, but then he so often does not seem to at all. He has said he will give us the desires of our heart (Psalm 20:4-5), but so often he doesn’t. Why?

10 Unhealthy Foods You THINK Are Healthy

Self-explanatory.

Digging Into New York City’s Trashy History

A Q&A with the New York City Sanitation Department’s resident anthropologist. On a side note, I had no idea “garbologist” was even a word:

Garbologists study trash. Sociologists study the way people relate to one another. But who studies how people relate to their trash? Robin Nagle, the New York City Department of Sanitation’s anthropologist-in-residence, that’s who. Nagle first worked with the department while researching a book on the city’s sanitation workers (or “san men”). When she heard that the department supported an artist-in-residence, it dawned on her that she could play a similar role as an anthropologist, so she convinced the higher-ups to create the job for her (it probably wasn’t that hard, since she doesn’t earn a salary). Now she’s developing the city’s first sanitation museum, organizing the department’s archives, and spear-heading a sanitation oral history project. That’s all in her spare time. She also holds a day job as an anthropology professor at New York University. Sarah Schmidt caught up with Nagle for a lively discussion about the history of garbage in one of the world’s largest cities, where 25,000 tons are disposed of every day.

Amazon.com Announces the Most Well-Read Cities in America

The top 20 most “well-read” cities in America, according to Amazon. Interestingly enough, Virginia shows up three times in the top 20!

7 Key Ideas from C.S. Lewis

Dr. Art Lindsley summarizing 7 key concepts as described by C.S. Lewis:

I have heard it said that many well-known thinkers have only two or three key ideas that they develop from various angles throughout their lives. It might be asked: What are C.S. Lewis’s key ideas? I have chosen seven to summarize in this essay. You can click on the words in bold to get a further development of these ideas. The seven I have chosen are:

  1. Chronological Snobbery
  2. Desire
  3. Imagination
  4. Objective Values vs. Relativism
  5. Myth
  6. Immortality
  7. Comprehensiveness

Coffee Drinks May Live Longer

Excuse me while I brew some more coffee, live longer, and then get back to reading this article.

Leave a Reply

